Today I had to run to the grocery store today on my lunch break to get some soy milk for a friend. Now, if you’ve read my previous posts, you know I work in what is classified as “the hood”.. I’ve tried buying soy milk there before, but apparently no one on the North Side of Milwaukee drinks it, I don’t know. So that left me with one other choice.. to drive to a boutique grocery store in one of the most wealthy neighborhoods in Southeast Wisconsin.

I don’t want to be rude so I won’t name names, but I walked into this grocery store and immediately knew I just didn’t fit in there (then Radiohead started playing in my mind.. I don’t beloooonggg here) . I don’t know if it was the 10.00 chocolate bars staring me in the face or the overwhelming amount of North Face fleeces buzzing around me, but I just wanted to get the fuck out of there ASAP. Don’t any of these people work during the day?! What’s the deal!

I put more thought into it as I passed by the duck roasts and 89.00 cheese slices, no matter how much money I ever make in my life, this place and people were the antithesis of me. Living a cookie cutter lifestyle as if I’m a Stepford Wife  is my idea of personal hell. I mean, I love cooking so that would work.. except for the fact that my favorite grocery store is a hispanic Piggly Wiggly that has the weirdest people known to man working / shopping there, but the ethnic food choices are fucking awesome. A Stepford Wife wouldn’t be caught dead there.

There is just something about being a people-person that I’ve always been drawn to, and I guess I exude that attitude because strangers are constantly approaching me. In my opinion, and please read the preface I just said (IN MY OPINION, so don’t get mad this is how I feel) suburban living equates to being in a cult for me. Now, if you grew up in one / live in the suburbs now, I’m sorry, but this is just how I feel. I love the fact that there are all different kinds of people where I live and sure, there’s crime, it doesn’t always look picture perfect, my house wasn’t built by a contractor that made every other house on my block – but that is exactly what I love about it. I see something new EVERY SINGLE DAY. I love being able to walk into a store and strike up a conversation with a stranger and meet someone completely different one minute later. Sure the houses may be nice, and you rarely hear about anything unruly happening in the wealthier areas around here, but they’re also missing out on a culture of people who strive to be different.

If we all look the same, shop at the same stores, have the need to wear certain brands or drive certain cars to show our “class” or superiority over others, please explain to me why I shouldn’t just be a fucking robot instead. There are so many great things that exist around me, so I guess I would love to challenge people who are stuck in the bubble that is “them” to step out of it sometime and realize, hey.. I’m not better than anyone else, maybe I shouldn’t be segregating myself. What are you afraid of anyway? Terrible things happen no matter where you live or what kind of car you drive, so living your life in fear of uncontrollable circumstances is going to SUPER suck forever. Try something new.. it’s the least you can do.

stepfordwives

