Despite the bitter title of this blog, this is a shout out to all of the people working in the service industry. My first job was at a custard / burger joint with a bunch of my friends and the craziest stories that don’t even sound real. What does this have to do with anything? Let me explain. As you all know, I’m a Milwaukee (Bay View more specifically) resident born and raised. I ended up in Rocke$ha (waukesha) for college, and couldn’t resist moving back. Now I’m really offtrack right? HOLD YOUR HORSES I’M GETTING TO THE POINT. Not only is Milwaukee one of the coolest cities ever, but it has the.best.restaurants. srsly. THEBEST. Like om nom nom nom.

So although it sounds like a total chubby bunny move, and I mean.. it probably is, I go out to eat pretty regularly. Call me a fat kid, put me in a bib.. just don’t call me late for dinner (haha – that’s a joke ala my dad) Back to this long-winded story. Since there are so many local eats, I try to spread the love and try all of them. A non-biased overeater.. I mean I have my favorites, but I want to try EVERYTHING. So, I don’t want to name names, but I went to this awesome restaurant known for delicious corned beef sandwiches – NOM. (here’s where I bring the story full-circle.. read closely) Everything was going swimmingly, except that our waiter was a total asshole.

I hold a special place in my heart for anyone working in the service industry.. I’ve been there. People are dicks. Straight up. That’s why I’m always sweet as pie, cause the least amount of problems possible, smile and always always tip AT LEAST 20%. Even if they don’t “deserve it”. You know what people don’t deserve.. the right to determine how much someone else’s service is worth to them while they sit on their ass and someone else serves them food.. Seriously. Anyway, our waiter definitely had a stick up his ass because he was very salty that I had asked him a simple question.. which is fine. I get it, you had a bad day. It happens.

The moral of my story is this: just because someone is a dickrod to you, don’t automatically assume they actually are an asshole ALL of the time. Think about all of the other chochers who were probably there before you, tipping like shit, being difficult and having to wipe up food that dropped out of someone else’s dirty old mouth.. You might be having a bad day too. Be a good person and give them a chance, it’s the LEAST you can do for someone who is making $2.33 / hour and putting up with your bullshit. OR as an alternative, spend 1 day in the shoes of a server, then you’ll understand this post wholeheartedly.

Oh and hey guy that was an asshole to me, I hope you have a better day tomorrow.

a98110_tip_1-advice

 

And fuck this guy.

