First and foremost, don’t get immediately angry reading this post. Just don’t do it. It’s just MY opinion, nothing more, nothing less. Take it with a grain of salt if you will. I’ve been reading all kinds of debates lately on gun control. In light of all of these mass shootings and the steady crime rate, especially in Milwaukee, people have really started turning to the internet as an outlet to stress what they think should be done about all of this. I’m all for public forum and discussion. (Obviously.. I’m writing a very hot topic blog right now) However, to me, there is a lack of conversation surrounding “where does it end”. I’ll give you an example. Recently, I was having a conversation about the heartbreaking shootings in Newtown. It brings tears to my eyes to even think about and write about to this day. No one will disagree with me that the whole situation is sickening to a point that is almost unable to explain. That part of it is a cold hard truth. I have a hard time emotionally around Christmas-time myself because as some people may know, my mother passed away December 21, 2007.. and I’ll be honest that magical feeling of the holidays always feels a little deflated to me. As I began this conversation about how my heart goes out to those families, someone else in the room immediately jumped into the conversation and started off with “if they would’ve had guns to protect themselves and those kids, this wouldn’t have happened.”

I had to stop. I wanted to make sure that my word choice was just right when responding, as to not seem as if I was pushing my agenda on anyone else in the room. I looked at this person and said, there is no possible way of knowing that. Unfortunately, we live in a world where ANYTHING is possible. In fact, we are taught that in school and life every single day. We can defy the odds and do anything we put our minds to.. which sadly enough also includes hurting and even killing others. If you asked anyone in the United States prior to September 11, 2001 if they thought it was possible for 4 planes to be overtaken and crashed, killing 2996 people — their answer probably would’ve been that you’re crazy. But it happened.

The conversation progressed, and it continued into the thought process of having someone who is armed at all schools, and this is where I bring back my topic from earlier.. where does this end? In Southeastern Wisconsin alone this past year, there was a mass shooting at a Sikh Temple as well as a hair salon. Does that mean there should be armed guards there also? Have we come to the point in society where there should be armed officers outside of every single public establishment where someone potentially could hurt us? That pretty much covers everywhere: including our own homes.

In my mind, this is how I feel. If you want to carry a gun for your own safety and sense of security.. Great. Have at it. Be responsible and give that gift of false security to yourself. The reason I say false security, is because anything can happen at any time. The Timothy McVeighs, Adam Lanzas and Radcliff Houghtons will find a way.. whether it be bombs, guns or any other way to hurt others. They were all sick individuals, but that in itself is a whole other conversation. I’m not careless or lackadaisical about my own safety, but I’m just not sold yet on the idea that arming a whole bunch of people — which we can only HOPE are responsible — to save my life. I’m going to stick with the police officers and trained officials for now, but that’s just me.

In the meantime, I’m going to focus on the grieving families of the world and send my thoughts and prayers their way.. because trust me, they both need and deserve it.

