So last night I received a really sweet, thoughtful invitation from my college sorority to join them for Relay for Life. (It was a tear-jerker for sure)  I was so touched that they would think of me and my family even after I graduated, so it inspired me to write this blog and try to spread the word not only about Relay for Life but about how cancer affects more and more people everyday.

For those of you that don’t know what Relay for Life is, it is one of the coolest events I’ve ever participated in. It is a 24-hour “walk” (usually themed) where you and your team raise money for the American Cancer Society and one member of your team is on the track walking laps at all times. At first, it may sound silly, but once you are there it really is a powerful event. The most special point (for me) in the night, is the luminaria ceremony. It gets me EVERY time. Before the ceremony, you can decorate a paper bag with someone’s name that you know who is affected by cancer or someone you have lost and they line the track with these. Then, they dim the lights in the field house and each of the mini-memorials is illuminated.  Walking around the track and seeing all of the people who are affected by this disease is really a powerful experience and gives me goosebumps to think about as I write this.

Most importantly, the reason I choose to Relay is to give more people a fighting chance at life, so that they don’t miss out on the things that too many people before them have.

I have an angel watching over me every day that I wish could’ve spent a little bit more time down here with me. Since that really isn’t an option for me, I want to be able to help those people who still do have a chance — and I know my mom will be at my side every step of the way on the rest of my own journey. I’m sure as you read this, sadly enough, that there are lots and lots of other people you can think of that were or still are being affected by cancer today.

I ask that you send your thoughts and prayers to those who are experiencing this – trust me they need it. If you would like to donate to the team I’ll be participating with click here, or if you would like to participate with me, I can always use a good walking partner.

(p.s. – I’ll try to write a less depressing blog post next week)

