Okay, so usually I don’t post anything political mainly because I’d rather just post my own musings and be carefree, but the other day some “Occupy Milwaukee” protesters got in my way so I felt it necessary to share my piece. In the past year or so, there have been some very successful protests and social movements, like Egypt for example. That truly was an admirable use of social media and protest to make a change.. for the better. But now it seems like protesting has turned into a trend rather than a tool. I think we are getting out of hand and losing sight of what it actually means to “deserve” something.

Let me start by saying, I definitely know what it’s like to think that life is unfair. As if my personal life hasn’t been difficult enough, I’m a college graduate sitting  on $35,000 in loans and working at an entry-level job which will never even come close to being enough to dig myself out of this hole. So YES, I do know what it is like to be the 99%. I know what it is like to work and work and work and work and work and STILL seem like the bills are endless. I feel the same frustration when I see celebrities on TV spend a million dollars on a yacht that they’ve probably never been on. I get just as mad when I think about people who have never had to work a day in their life but yet have everything they could ever want.. but you know what? I still feel uncertain that the Occupy movement is the place for me.. and there is only one reason why: I don’t think I “deserve” anything.

The word “deserve” makes me want to vom every single time I hear it. Where did this sense of entitlement come from? I’ve read numerous articles and watched countless videos about the movement, but I still don’t get it. The truth is we all deserve the right to life, but what we do with it is our choice.  A popular piece circulating through the Occupy movements is this:

First of all, I don’t think that a job is a “right”. I do, however, believe that there should be a fair chance for people to get jobs, but trust me.. I know how hard it is to find employment. It is a never-ending cycle, you search for a job BUT you need experience.. how do you get experience if you can’t get a job? (Frustrating much? I KNOW!) As a recent college grad, I’ve applied to hundreds of jobs and internships.. and sometimes you don’t even get a response! That’s the worst.. but instead of feeling like, man life is so unfair.. why should people like CEOs  make billions of dollars and I can’t even get an interview — I’m going to go sit in a park and protest. Wait… what?!

TELL ME HOW THAT MAKES SENSE?

I appreciate nothing more than fighting back against “the man”  but I just don’t agree with the way we are doing it. Instead of working hard, being relentless, finding that job that gives us a REAL voice we are protesting outside of big businesses.. but tell me, what difference are we REALLY making. Don’t get me wrong, I am just as mad as these Occupy protesters, but I like to think I’m joining the movement in a different way. I want to work my way up, become a society leader and actually put these changes into motion. I guarantee I’ll never be part of the 1%, but if I can even make a few changes that help humanity that is better than doing nothing.

The other things on this list of Second Bill of Rights are also questionable in my book, but I’m going to leave them alone for now. I think this post is politically charged enough for one day. So in closing.. (haha – I feel like I’m in COM Law class again) I just want to say, that with HARD WORKPERSEVERANCE, DETERMINATION and RELENTLESSNESS — We can make all of our lives better!

