I usually write a post on Wednesdays about where I want to travel and this week I have to be honest, the only place I want to be is a place that one day I hope I’ll see, but not quite yet. It seems like just yesterday I was calling my mom to ask her some stupid question that didn’t matter, mostly because I just wanted to talk to her and now today I sit here longing to hear her voice and just be able to talk to her again one more time. It has been 4 years today since my mom passed away and I miss her more and more as each day flies by me.

As time passes by I think about the past and dwell on all of the things I wish I could have done differently. It is so easy to become nostalgic and think to myself:  just one more minute, just one more hug, just one more breath. Then I snap myself out of it and realize that I couldn’t have asked for a better life. I am healthy, successful and have a great family around me.  Although my mom isn’t here with me now, she holds a special place in my heart and all of the things she taught me will never be lost. I wish that she could have seen all of my accomplishments in the past four years, but there is no doubt in my mind that she is watching over me today — and there is no better guardian angel than your own mom.

The holiday season has really helped bring some light and cheer this year despite that constant gut feeling like something is missing. Today, I’m going to spend the day doing things that remind me of her and instead of crying and being sad, I’m going to smile knowing that she truly is in a better place than she would be here.

I’m sure the view from heaven beats the hell out of mine here. 

Love you and miss you always. 

