So the other day I was driving home from work, traffic was backed up per usual and I wasn’t in the mood. I work in a pretty, uhhh interesting area of the city so let’s just say I wasn’t in the best neighborhood. Now, this doesn’t bother me in the least, especially since other people are too afraid to drive through there, boom: NO TRAFFIC. So I’m at a stop light when I see a man with a sign that says he is homeless. Instantly, my heart sinks a little in my chest. He approaches my car window and asks me for 50 cents. Feeling guilty, I dig into my purse and give him the singles I had.

Now, I’m sure that most people reading this right now are thinking.. WHY DID YOU DO THAT? Most people are going to assume he is going to use that money for drugs or something equally as terrible. I guess this got me thinking about why I always “fall” for this.. and then I realized, because it is who I am.

What I mean by that is, even if he was using that money for drugs, how sad is it that he has to peddle by the freeway and ask for such a minimal amount of money. I spend more money than that buying hairclips that I lose 5 minutes after I buy them. I guess the way that I see it is that I will give them this insignificant amount of money in good faith and hope that they actually use it for something productive like a meal, or to buy a jacket, or any number of things that don’t involve drugs or alcohol. And if they do use it for that, I have to say, I’m not the one being scammed. They are scamming themselves out of a happy, joy-filled life, not me.

I have to say that I am cautious and try to use my best judgment, but somehow in the end, my heart always gets the best of me.

 

 

