So as I was making the treacherous trek to Milwaukee today on 94 East, I had plenty of time to listen to random samplings of all the latest pop songs which included Rhianna’s latest hit, “S&M”. So maybe kids don’t know what that means, but I think her lyrics make it clear, it is about breaking people’s bones with sticks.. duh! But in all seriousness it is blatantly about banging people, but yet when it comes to the chorus, they bleep out the word “SEX”. This is another segment of ARE YOU KIDDING ME? on this blog. After I thought about how ludicrous it is to censor the most innocent word in that whole song, I remembered how many situations there have been where censorship has gone awry.. and it was awesome.

1. On the MTV Video awards on Sunday, Edward Cullen was glittering under the spotlights.. *ahem* Excuse me.. Robert Pattinson was presenting the lifetime achievement award to a pretty sweet lady, Reese Witherspoon. Now as he was trying to be funny, but really looked like a jackass telling inside jokes to millions of people, he did one thing admirable, said the f word on TV and somewhere the censorship Gods were sleeping and someone was a few seconds too late on the bleeping button, and there it was.. on live television. Yes. Even better, it was in relation to sex.Β  In case you missed it,

2. We censor words like “sex” in new songs like S&M, who are just telling it like it is, but we don’t even think twice about old school songs which seem innocent, but allude to sex, like Afternoon Delight. If you have seen the Glee episode, it can be confusing for some, but most people know it is about quickies in the middle of the day.

3. The best slip-up of all time, the granddaddy and birth (yes it is both) of censorship, Janet Jackson. I don’t even need to say more.

So now that you’ve had your sex education for the day, I will leave you with my favorite radio edit of all time.. T-Pain’s “I’m in Love With a Stripper”.. Oh my goodness! I mean DANCER. DANCER. DANCER.Β  Stripper is such a bad word sooo derogatory toward women like myself, why the h-e-double hockey sticks would I ever say such a terrible word? Heavens, I’m going to have to start censoring myself to keep up with the times! So you can go eff yourself or suck a d for all I care. Just be sure to keep it PC πŸ˜‰

