So the other day in one of my classes we were talking about things you do when you move to a new town and how you would meet people. I thought about it for a while, came up with typical answers, but the one person said, “I would definitely not be a creep and go out to eat by myself or anything like that…” And I was like huh? I always thought that was creepy too.. but oh wait.. I do that all the time! Being alone has such a bad stigma to it, but I’m convinced that most people have never tried it. Then I kept thinking to myself.. I prefer to do most things by myself, I mean don’t get me wrong I would much rather go out with someone, but I definitely don’t mind being by myself either… maybe this makes me a creep but I think there are plenty of advantages of this quality. I think that I developed this “loner” habit when I started working full time and having a 1 hour lunch break. There is only so much you can do until you finally break down and say, hey I’m going to be that guy who sits by himself today. But whatever, I get to try new things that maybe someone else wouldn’t want to. I get to have my own agenda for whatever I’m doing and not explain it to anyone else. If I decide to go shopping by myself I don’t have to explain to another person why I’ve gone into the same stores 5 different times and looked at the same thing trying to decide whether or not to buy it. I don’t have to walk fast or try to keep up with anyone if I decide to go for a walk around the lake. I can drive around fancy neighborhoods and make a million circles around round-abouts without anyone in the car to judge me. I can turn my radio all the way up and sing as loud as I can until my throat hurts. I can go to the store and page through magazines. I can walk to the beach and eat ice cream and so on. (I think you get the picture) I guess what I’m trying to get at is that everyone should value their 1 hour a day that they are by themselves and do something out of the ordinary or just plain whatever you want.

and in case you aren’t creative here is a list of 10 things you can do that don’t involve Facebook or microwaveable food:

http://www.yesandyes.org/2011/03/10-things-to-do-on-your-lunchbreak-that.html

