So if you know me or read any of my blog posts, you know that I love Southern things (country music, fried chicken, honky tonks) but I read an article today that makes my skin crawl. Now let me say, I firmly believe that people have every right to their own opinion, but don’t forget that there is always someone looking up to you.

A principal in Tennessee thought it would be appropriate to openly say, “If you’re gay you’re going to hell and if you’re pregnant, your life is over” during an assembly held at the school. I’m not naive to the fact that bigotry is still alive and well in a lot more people than we would like to admit, but  really? A PRINCIPAL? It just sets me off immediately and makes me want to shake her and say, “WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOU” over and over again.. but sadly enough, I’m sure she STILL wouldn’t get it. Even worse, there are people “backing her up” — WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE? Hey, remember that time it’s 2012? Oh yeah.. that’s weird..

School is where kids have the majority of their social interaction and where they begin to learn the foundations of being a respectable adult.. at least that is ideally what should be happening.  I’m a firm believer in letting people come to their own conclusions without being overly biased. By pushing your thoughts and heavy opinions on such young and malleable minds, you aren’t giving them the chance to use their reasoning and logic to create their own set of morals and beliefs.

Too often people create belief sets and morals based on “what they were taught” or “the way they were raised” — which I think is complete BULLSHIT (excuse my language). My parents were some pretty cool cats for my whole life, but as I got older I realized how cool and smart they really were.. Never once did I hear either one of them say something against someone based on their sex, religion, sexual preference or anything else for that matter. Everyone was treated as equals and until I was exposed to people who were so negative, it was really hard for me to grasp this concept..

For the longest time, I couldn’t understand racism or bigotry.. what do you mean you hate them for no REAL reason? To me a real reason to dislike a person is because they’re impacting my morale negatively or they’ve done something that I perceive as “wrong”. What is wrong with this world is that people who are supposed to be positive and uplifting about all of humanity (cough, cough *PRINCIPALS OF SCHOOLS*) are teaching young minds to be hateful. You may not agree with some things, but does that mean you should exploit the trust that children have in you to make them believe what you think is right?

It’s just wrong. All I can say about this is to remember the old adage: Treat others how you want to be treated AND if you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

Click Here to Read the Atrocious Article and Watch the Video